Writing practice failure pays unexpected dividend

Several months ago I publicly pledged (in this blog) to write a hundred, 100-word stories in a year.  It was a well-intentioned attempt to insure regular writing and improve my writing skills. I’m ashamed, mortified and perversely proud to admit I only wrote 65 of them.

Be that as it may, I did have enough material to submit to a the Monterey Weekly’s 101 word story contest, and as luck would have it I was awarded second place for one of the stories and honorable mention for another (http://www.montereycountyweekly.com/news/2012/dec/27/unpredictably-genius/).

Not too shabby for a writing regimen failure.

For this achievement I was awarded a $50 gift certificate at a local brewery, which may not seem like a lot for a year’s worth of writing, but hey – if I could build up to winning six of these a day it would be a living. Sort of.

Bottom line – now I’m planning a small book project around some of these stories that will include illustrations. The moral of my story is: Just do it. You don’t know what will happen, but something will.

About David Arnot Rasch

Author, psychologist, speaker, workshop leader
This entry was posted in Tips for overcoming writer's block and procrastination. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing practice failure pays unexpected dividend

  1. Fakewomen says:

    I love small books

Leave a Reply

