I really don’t feel like writing but I’m making myself do it, and writing about that.

The author slogs through his blog despite gnarly resistances.

That’s right. The bad news is that I’m mired in the problems I write about. The good news is that at least now I have a blog topic.

I’ve been writing this blog for about 6 months and suddenly this week I felt like I was drying up, running out of ideas, and tired of the routine. I mean, how many blog posts can  a man write about this topic and still say something new, worthwhile, amusing or interesting?

But for today anyway, I have my topic. I don’t want to write and somehow I am going to do it nonetheless. I’ll practice what I preach and give a  report from the trenches. Step one is opening up the ‘new post’ window in my blog, without having the slightest idea of what I will write. My body and mind are exerting a subtle but powerful resistance, and I am entertaining ideas that are tempting me to do something else – anything else. Somehow I manage to stay seated and not walk to the coffee shop. A small victory.

Next, I scour my mind in search of a decent blog theme, but every candidate seems unappealing, already done or boring. I’m not motivated. I search a variety of internet picture collections for inspiration, and nothing clicks. I look at my book‘s table of contents, but everything seems to be something I’ve already addressed.

I am looking at an unyielding, uncaring blank screen, and now I feel guilty like I should be accomplishing other pressing tasks on my ‘to do’ list, because staring at my computer screen trying to write is apparently a waste of time. An ominous cascade of thoughts about the hopelessness of pursuing writing at all darts into my consciousness, but I chase these demons away through a courageous act of will.

I finally realize that I will write about my problems with writing today, and now I feel better and energized. I decide to put my head right into the open jaws of the ravenous lion of writing dread, and trust that I will survive and that something good will come of it.

After all, I only have to write 300 words, and actually, I just did that.

About David Arnot Rasch

Author, psychologist, speaker, workshop leader
This entry was posted in Common Writing Block Problems, The Blocked Writer's Book of the Dead, Tips for overcoming writer's block and procrastination and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

