Isaac Asimov wrote 500+ books. Did he do it just to make me feel bad?

Isaac Asimov: Prolific at producing both whiskers and books

Isaac Asimov was one of the most prolific writers of all time, with a book count of over 500 as well as countless articles, letters, and short stories. Why did he have to do this? Did he think the rest of us needed a few hundred more reasons to feel inadequate?

Then, to top it off, he had to go and write books that were good, influential, and made into movies! It’s enough to make a writer wonder, “Why even try?” I mean, come on……500 books?! Thanks a ton Isaac, for making the piddling efforts of millions of writers seem absolutely pointless!!

“Isaac Asimov had writer’s block once,” fellow science fiction writer Harlan Ellison said, referring to Asimov’s impressive output. “It was the worst ten minutes of his life.”

Maybe, if I can overcome the narcissistic wounds that Asimov’s legacy inflicts on my ego, I can learn something about being a more productive writer. I don’t want to, but perhaps I should, entertain the unlikely hypothesis that his motive for writing was something other than a malevolent desire to do harm to my self-esteem.

I’ve just ordered the book he wrote with his wife, Janet; How to Enjoy Writing: A Book of Aid and Comfort.”  I’ll report back on what I learn.

About David Arnot Rasch

Author, psychologist, speaker, workshop leader
This entry was posted in Famous writers, The Blocked Writer's Book of the Dead, Tips for overcoming writer's block and procrastination and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Isaac Asimov wrote 500+ books. Did he do it just to make me feel bad?

  1. Pingback: Asimov 500 « Thing of the Day

  2. Pingback: Asimov 500 | Liblog

Leave a Reply

