The terrible cry of the blocked writer: part two

“I have plenty of time to write but I waste enormous amounts of time on insignificant tasks or just sleeping. I dread actually sitting down at my desk and beginning to write. I’ll find any excuse to do something else. No one knows how serious a problem this is and I lie when my friends ask how my book is coming along.”

*****************

“I don’t belong here. The university made a huge mistake hiring me as a professor. There’s no way I’ll ever be able to get published in a respectable journal. If I try to write anything it will be obvious that I am out of my league. I have this terrible recurring fantasy of a group of graduate students reading an article I’ve written and laughing out loud. Unfortunately, I’m not suited for any other kind of work and I’m terrified of failing.”

*******************

“Whatever I write seems like absolute crap to me. I can spend hours on a single paragraph, only to tear it up in disgust. What made me think I could be a writer? I’m terrified that I don’t have what it takes but I can’t give it up. Every day I feel haunted by thoughts of what I am not accomplishing.”

About David Arnot Rasch

Author, psychologist, speaker, teacher, coach, workshop leader
This entry was posted in Common Writing Block Problems, PhD and dissertation/thesis writing issues, Tips for overcoming writer's block and procrastination and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

