My micro-nano story writing practice just became a book

What began as a strategy to sustain writing became a book recently. A couple of years ago, to keep myself writing, I gave myself the challenge to write a a hundred and one 101-word stories within a year. This was harder than I thought it would be because of the demand on the imagination to generate so many story ideas and then beat them down into 101 words, day after day. Somehow I was drawn in by this challenge and made time almost every day to work on them. My productivity rose because I enjoyed the writing.

I took a bit more than a year, but ended up writing 160 stories. After reading some of them at open mics and my writer’s club meeting, and then entering (and winning) some flash fiction contests, I decided to winnow the group down to 101 of the best, and make a book. The final piece was asking my nephew, Jason Cirimele, to make illustrations of several of the stories – one for every page.

I had the book published with the expert help of Patricia Hamilton of Park Place Publications and, Voila! Short Hot Flashes was born – an illustrated collection of a hundred and one 101 word stories. Available now at an Amazon near you!

About David Arnot Rasch

Author, psychologist, speaker, teacher, coach, workshop leader
This entry was posted in Tips for overcoming writer's block and procrastination. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My micro-nano story writing practice just became a book

  1. Carolyn Kennedy says:

    Congratulations! I look forward to reading it.

  2. ixchel leigh says:

    Congratulations!!! A wonderful feat to be acknowledged.

Leave a Reply

